Edward Glover

Author, diplomat.

“A passion for history, a career in diplomacy and a love of classical music
– a perfect blend that’s inspired me to write.”

About the Author

Edward Glover is a historical novelist and author of The Herzberg TrilogyThe Executioner’s HouseThe Lute Player and most recently Dark Obsession.

Edward Glover CMG MVO was born in London. After gaining a history degree followed by an MPhil at Birkbeck College, London University, he embarked on a career in the British diplomatic service, during which his overseas postings included Washington DC, Berlin, Brussels and the Caribbean.

With a life-long interest in 16th- and 18th-century history, baroque music and 18th-century art, Edward was encouraged by the purchase in Berlin of two paintings and a 19th century British passport to try his hand at writing historical fiction.

When he isn’t writing or busy in the Foreign Office, Edward likes walking, playing tennis and gardening.


Left: Ludwig the Ninth of Hesse Darmstadt who features in children’s story – The King Who Ate My Breakfast.

Right: Frederick the Great who features in the first two books in The Herzberg trilogy.

“I find writing the first words of a story akin to unlocking a secret door. You never quite know where the characters you discover will take you. The process is compelling.”

– Edward Glover

Edward’s Books

Six books spanning the history of 18th Century Europe, Beethoven and Mozart to post-1945 Berlin, as well as two children’s stories.

Latest News

Edward’s thoughts, meanderings and ponders…


Agnes’s Secret Friend

Posted on
In my second children’s story – The Night Agnes Florence Emily Danced Before the Emperor – the principal character is of course Agnes, always looking for peace and quiet in a noisy world. The other notable character – her secret and very special friend – is Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, whose music lulls her to sleep…

[Announcement] The King Who Ate My Breakfast

Posted on
After writing six novels in six years and already with an idea for a seventh, it never crossed my mind to write a children’s story. But after a chance remark by my daughter, I decided to take a ‘time out’ and have a go. We’ve all heard young children being urged by tedious adults to…

And now for something completely different…

Posted on
Having written six novels in six years (The Herzberg Trilogy, The Executioner’s House, The Lute Player, and more recently Dark Obsession), I wanted to write something entirely different before beginning another novel. So last year – in the midst of other everyday work – I conceived and completed a children’s book for the 7-9 year…